Overview of the EstEID certification hierarchy

This section provides an overview regarding the certification chains used for issuing the ID card, digi-ID, e-resident's digi-ID, mobile ID, s-Seal and other organisation certificates by Sertifitseerimiskeskus.

The certification chains used by SK have three levels:

  • top-level certificate (EE Certification Centre Root CA)
  • certificates of the certifier (e.g. ESTEID-SK 2015, which are issued by the top-level certifier)
  • end-user certificates (e.g. a person’s certificates added to an ID card that are issued on the basis of ESTEID-SK 2015). 

In case of EE Certification Centre Root CA hierarchy the validity certification service (OCSP) certificate (SK OCSP RESPONDER 2011) has been issued by the root certificate.


If you didn't find an answer to your question, send it to our team.

  • See instructions
  • Please estimate your ability to use the computer, so that we can provide you with the best guidance


  • Verification failed

How can we improve the article and be more helpful?
Send Close